Scottish Gaelic song ‘Gràdh Geal Mo Chridh / Bheir mi o”

This song tells of a man who has lost his gift for music in his loneliness and longing for the woman he loves, until she said her destiny was with him…

Gràdh Geal Mo Chridh’
Séist
Bheir mi o hu ho-o
Bheir mi o-o hu o hi
Bheir mi o-hu o-o ho
‘S mi fo bhròn ‘s tu ‘gam dhìth

‘S iomadh oidhche fhliuch fhuar
Ghabh mi cuairt ‘s mi leam fhìn
Gus an d’ràinig mise an t-àit’
Far ‘n robh gràdh geal mo chridh’

Sèist

Dheanainn treabhadh dheanainn buain
Chumainn suas thu gun strì
‘S bheirinn as a’ ghreabhal chruaidh
Dha mo luaidh teachd-an-tìr.

Sèist

Ged nach eil sinn fhathast pòsd’
Tha mi ‘n dòchas gum bi
Fhad’s a mhaireas mo dhà dhòrn
Cha bhi lòn oirnn a dhìth.

Sèist

Bheir mi o
Chorus:
Bheir mi o hu ho-o
Bheir mi o-o hu o hi
Bheir mi o-hu o-o ho
And sorrowful I am feeling without you

Many’s a wet and cold night
I took a walk by myself
Until I’d reach the place
Where was my heart’s bright love was

Chorus:

I would plough and reap
I would provide for you without any difficulty
And I would take from the hard gravel
For my love – our livelihood

Chorus:

Although we are not yet married
I hope we shall be
For as long as I have my two hands
We shall not lack food

Chorus:

One thought on “Scottish Gaelic song ‘Gràdh Geal Mo Chridh / Bheir mi o”

  1. R.I.P….. Marie Therese 22 February 2014
    You were truly an inspiration to all who knew your fight for justice
    You are and will always be a remarkable woman
    Rest in peace Marie Therese

Leave a Reply

