Whispering Hope: Tribute to Magdalen Laundry survivors

I learned this song in Goldenbridge industrial school. I’ve never forgotten it. When I lived at a London hostel for Irish girls, I used to play this rendition over and over again on a small record player that resembled a toaster. I thoroughly enjoyed singing the harmony part. The small vinyl record was just popped into an opening, in exactly the same way one does with toast. It is such a melodious haunting song.

Listening to it again in the context of the victory of the Magdalen laundry survivors made me all lachrymose. Well done to all survivors. It was such a hard battle, but you won it in the long run. What a sigh of relief!

Leave a Reply

