Phil Lynott: Whiskey in the jar

Phil Lynott is a legend in Ireland. I was reminded of him in a tweet by:

CllrJoeRyan

On this day in 1986 #Phil Lynott died. Here’s a snap of his grave in Sutton that I came across last June pic.twitter.com/9KpHPlNL View photo

@CllrJoeRyan A person who grew up with me in Goldenbridge was apparently in a relationship with Lynott. I remember going to Skid-Row disco.

@MarieTherese39 Don’t remember Skid Row, but remember, well, Thin Lizzy on TOTP 1973 (Jan?)

@CllrJoeRyan …Christine Buckley – survivor of Goldenbridge – was person who told me about relationship that survivor had with Phil Lynott.

@CllrJoeRyan It’s ironic that video was shot at Crystal Ballrooms, which I think is place where Christine Buckley’s son is now manager. 1/2

@MarieTherese39 Phil was from Crumlin, so it was a local gig. Saw them for a fiver in 1979 live & dangerous tour in Simmonscourt gr8 nite! Expand

@CllrJoeRyan Probably way before your time. See: Philip Lynott, Skid Row, 1969: http://youtu.be/5hgKIRql5k4  via @youtube View media

I did a check on Crystal Ballrooms, and it’s not the one where Christine Buckley’s son is manager. The ballroom where Phil Lynott played was in fact at Sth Anne St., as opposed to one now situated near Harcourt St.
 More Update:
I’ve just discovered that the son works at Krystle Night Club – and not at (past venue) stated above.
More more Update:
 Read: –> Conor Buckley has left Krystle’s for newer pastures.
As of writing now, a disco by the name of Whiskey -a-go-go, or maybe even Club a go-go in Harcourt St. is springing to mind? I know that I went discoing there as a young teenager. I’ll have to find out. I do know for certain that I would not have been interested in dance-halls such as the Ierne and the National Ballroom. Not to mention the Teacher’s Ballroom, for the middle highbrows. They were considered to be for the culcies. Little did I know at the time that I was of Culcie stock. They would have been considered too hickey. They were the halls where show-bands played. They were coming to the end of an era. The SWINGING sixties had well arrived on the scene. I remember being kind of funky and into wearing culottes. I even remember getting a professional machinist, of which there were plenty to be had in Dublin, to hand-make me a midi-plaid pair, which were all the rage. I can still see the fluorescent green jumper with belt, that matched perfectly with the culottes. I think I could have got the idea of asking someone to make me the fawnish-greyish plaid culottes from my time spent with the Boyne’s as a young child, as there was always homemade newspaper dress patterns spread across the table. Valerie Boyne was very gifted with the needle and sewing machine. She later went on to become second in command in a sewing factory that made clothes for Dunne Stores. That was a real achievement. A lot the girls in Boyne St. went to work in sewing factories at 14 years of age. Valerie was expert at making wedding and bridesmaid dresses. She made her sister’s wedding dress and the page-girl out-fit that I wore for the wedding.
One thought on “Phil Lynott: Whiskey in the jar

Leave a Reply

