Davidstown, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford, Ireland

photo

 H/t The Churchyard in Davidstown – By CharlesFred June 16, 2007  

This is a very old graveyard right beside DT chapel. Relatives only can use their own plots, no newcomers are allowed. The grave with railings surrounding it belongs to the Mullett family. I’ve been here on innumerable occasions with Eileen Furlong, R.I.P., so would be very familiar with the Mullett family grave, as Eileen always attended same. My great-grandmother, great grand-father, grand-father, grand-mother and many uncles are buried here. I too will be buried here. Well, death is the only surest thing. Gosh, the poppies are growing so near my relatives grave. I haven’t been there for such a long time, as I don’t like graveyards with family associations. They take so much out of me. Some people are fantastic and keep great vigil. I keep vigil in my head. I’ll have to visit the grave, now that I’ve been reminded. An employee of my family was very good at looking after the grave in the past, he was so meticulous, that he used too much acid on the white marble stone that it discoloured it completely. It was a crying shame. I really didn’t plan this post at all. I was replying to a comment by Pat Cain of Illinois. Thank you Pat, by the way, my attention needed to be drawn to this subject, as I’ve put it on the long finger for far too long. I will make it my business over Christmas period to visit the grave.

Conversation came to fruition via this River Slaney Enniscorthy, Co.… source.

Davidstown, Courtnacuddy (more Diocese details)
St. David
Address: Enniscorthy
Co. Wexford
Telephone: 053 9233 382
E-mail: revjnolan2005@eircom.net
St. David
Address: Davidstown, Co. Wexford
Courtnacuddy St Carthage’s
Address: Co. Wexford
Telephone: 053-9233382

original census form

According to the sources – Sorted By Name

sortedbyname.com/pages/m120739.html

MULLETS, Ghamer Eugene married in 1946 in Fayette, West Virginia, ….. was in the 1911 census for Toberona, The Leap, County Wexford, Ireland 12,650,915 

According to the sources – Sorted By Name

sortedbyname.com/pages/m121811.html

25 Oct 2012 – MULLET, DAVID L was born 13 October 1945; received Social ……(daughter of Thomas Mullett) was in the 1911 census for Toberona, The 

An observation: The ‘Toberona’ that I’ve referred at Davidstown is part of The Leap.

Dáil Éireann – Volume 13 – 11 December, 1925 – CEISTEANNA 

historical-debates.oireachtas.ie/D/0013/D.0013.192512110008.html

John MulletToberona, Davidstown, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford. Wicklow and Dublin. Q. Thomas Brennan, Balleen, Freshford, Co. Kilkenny. Nicholas Dromey, c/o 

 PS: Pat Cain – FYA: I see that there was a “John” Mullett from Toberona mentioned in Dáil Éireann.
12 thoughts on “Davidstown, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford, Ireland

  1. Pingback: Mullett’s Toberona, Enniscorthy Co. Wexford | Marie-Thérèse O'Loughlin Goldenbridgeinmate39

  2. Hi Marie Therese,

    I Just stumbled across your blog and I think we are probably distant cousins. I’m a descendant of the Mullett’s of The Hill, Davidstown (where I currently reside). As far as I know I have photos of your great grandfather and great great grandfather and great great grandmother (The Hill being the original farm). If you would like copies of the photos or any more info, just e-mail me.

    All the best,
    Colm Moriarty
    colmwexford@hotmail.com

  3. Hello, Colm. Do you actually reside at the ‘farm’ belonging to Mullet’s of the Hill? You must have heard of old Pat Murphy of ‘the Dairy House’, Davidstown? He’s buried in the new graveyard, beside the very old one depicted above. Eileen Furlong (RIP), a sister of his, told me all about the Mullett’s They lived at Toberona House, otherwise colloquially known as ‘the house on the Hill’.

    I shall e-mail you. Thanks very much for contacting me.

    All the best,
    Marie-Therese

  4. Hi Marie-Therese, sorry for the delay in replying. I live on ‘The Hill’, alright. Pat the dairyman was actually married to my gran-aunt Betty Heffernan (her mother was a Mullett). It was a strange set up though, as they both continued to live on their own respective farms after the wedding.

    In Davidstown there were actual two distinct families of Mullett’s. Mulletts of The Hill (Rathnure townland, close to The Leap crossroads) and Mulletts of Toberona (just to complicate things the Mulletts of the Hill also owned land in Tobernona). These families would have been cousins and their graves lie side by side in Davidstown cemetery. There have been Mullett’s living on ‘The Hill’ since at least the late 18th century and this probably represents the ancestral home of both the families.

    All the best, Colm

  5. Colm – It’s really nice to meet you this way.

    I accompanied Eileen, his sister, to the hospital when Pat was very ill. I remember noting how sky-blue his eyes were, and commented on same. I was also introduced to your grand-aunt Betty, again, by Eileen at one of the annual Davidstown Patterns.

    Wow! I never knew that they were married to each other. I thought they were just life-long partners. It’s not the first time that there has been a similar “strange* set-up in the Murphy clan, whereby spouses and the former lived on their own respective farms.

    Thanks for that information on the Mulletts.

    Pat Cain on November 16, 2012 at 1:27 am said:

    Pat Cain commented on River Slaney Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford

    I am looking for genealogy assistance on the Simon Cain and Ellen Doyle who lived in Enniscorthy, St David’s parish I believe. Simon was born in 1799 possibly in Belfast. Their son John born 1834 in Wexford. John married Bridget Mullett.
    If anyone could look in the Roman Catholic records from St. David’s it would be most helpful.
    Thanks.
    Pat Cain, Wheaton, Illinois, USA

    I wonder would there be any connection with the Mulletts?

    Did you ever meet Father Willie who recently passed away?

    If you ever encounter Pat & James Jn. Furlong, will you please give them my kindest regards. I expect Niamh, Pat’s daughter is a young lady by now. I heard that James Jn. has got two boys.

    • Hi Marie-Therese,
      I am Tom Mullett (born in Dublin, currently residing in Dun Laoghaire).
      My father, John Mullett was born in Toberona in 1888. His sister, Ciss married Pat Murphy of the Dairy House.
      Their children Stephen, Molly, Eileen and Pat are my first cousins. The current Pat Murphy is my second cousin once removed.
      Pat Murphy married Betty Furlong. Betty was a Mullett, do you know where Betty’s mother came from?
      There are Mulletts living in Monkstown Dublin. I met them recently, they would have originally come from Toberona or The Hill. They are having a Mullett ‘gathering’ in The Royal Marine Hotel Dun Laoghaire on 16/17th August 2013
      I look forward to hearing from you.
      Regards,
      Tom.

  6. Hello, Tom,

    Thanks very much for contacting me. It is such a pleasure to make your online acquaintance.

    When you say:

    His sister, Ciss married Pat Murphy of the Dairy House.

    Do you mean the father of Pat Murphy, (the dairy-man) who married Betty Heffernan. Not Furlong?

    Their children Stephen, Molly, Eileen and Pat are my first cousins

    I met Stephen (RIP). He sold a farm he inherited at Chapel, Clonroche, and moved into Wexford Town. He had ten children.

    Molly, who inherited the post-office and shop combined nearby the Dairy House, (now a pub with new owners) was Joan-Carmel’s (my mother) best friend when they were growing up. She cycled out from the ‘Still’ to the Dairy House on a regular basis. She loved going to visit the Murphy’s, who were well known for their gentleness and kindness. It was her second home. I smiled in a compassionate way when Eileen was telling me that they did not want her company, as she was too young, and they were beyond little girly company.

    I was also glad to have met Pat (RIP). I’ve got Eileen to thank for that indeed. She made sure that he would encounter a daughter of Joan-Carmel. I know that there are others whom he would have loved to have met. It wasn’t to be.

    I also stayed for holiday periods with Eileen (RIP) and husband, James (RIP) at the homeplace in Palace East, Clonroche. I helped out on the 300 acre farm, with Caroline, the only daughter, (a trained nursing sister) who is now in Australia. We had immense fun rounding up the sheep to be sheared and stamped and counted, and helped with milking the cows in the evening, coupled with mundane farm work, such as cleaning out outhouses. I also stayed with them during Christmas time. I miss the long conversations we had around the large kitchen table and the homemade cooking from the AGA cooker, and the two corgis who yapped at me to give them food. I learned a lot about the Murphy clan. They were so homely. They always looked forward to uncle Willie’s visits when he returned from Japan on holidays. I loved going with him to visit them, as there was always a lot of excitement at seeing each other.

    The current Pat Murphy is my second cousin once removed.

    Pat, who is presently at the Dairy House, sadly lost his wife, after only a short time of marriage. She was a nurse out in Kenya, or some other part of Africa, and contacted a deadly virus. She was responsible for renovating the old farm-house. It’s now a lovely home. Pat has one daughter who is the apple of her father’s eye. Speaking of ‘apple’ Pat was known to have climbed a 100 year old apple tree at the home-place of Joan-Carmel’s to get to the ripest deepest red, juicy apple. He’s into flying ‘planes and racehorses.

    Incidentally, Pat’s brother, James Jn, is now running the farm at Palace East. Last I heard was that he now has two sons. I should really make contact with him. I think Michael, another brother who was a jockey, now trainer of horses, could still be residing in England. There were horse paintings galore in the parlour of the house at Clonroche. Eileen was fiercely proud of Michael, and his successes at Cheltenham. Alas, he fell off his horse at one of the big races, and was badly injured, hence the training of horses, I suspect.

    Pat Murphy married Betty Furlong. Betty was a Mullett, do you know where Betty’s mother came from?

    You mean, Betty Heffernan. Eileen married James Furlong.

    I think Colm would be the perfect candidate to answer that question. See comment up above. He would be a relative of yours. Betty was his grand-Aunt. I’ll check it out with him.

    As an aside, I do know that Betty is buried in Davidstown in the newer graveyard section, as Eileen showed me the grave when we were there at one of the annual patterns.

    There are Mulletts living in Monkstown Dublin. I met them recently, they would have originally come from Toberona or The Hill.

    Would those Mulletts be connected to the Mulletts who had a pub nearby Connelly train station in Dublin city centre?

    They are having a Mullett ‘gathering’ in The Royal Marine Hotel Dun Laoghaire on 16/17th August 2013

    Tom, That sounds very inviting indeed!

    My grandmother was Molly (Mary) Murphy. Her father was James Murphy. He was related to the Murphy’s of the Dairy House. I’ve got some interesting paperwork regarding the three Murphy brothers from the Dairy-House, that stems from the mid-eighteen hundreds. The documents were given to me by my now recently deceased uncle. They make for interesting reading. My great-grandmother was disowned by her family at St. John’s Manor, Enniscorthy, when she married James Murphy. The Murphy’s was very laid back, and not so industrious as the Kavanagh’s. My great-grandmother, by all accounts, ran the Murphy clan residue from the farm at the Still. They went off to Boston. I think they were referred to as the ‘black’ Murphy’s because they were very arty and creative and lived a very Bohemian lifestyle. I don’t think they ever forgave the woman with the flaming red hair at the Still, that had a temperament to match. The great-grand-aunt was a very tough, hard-working woman. She ruled the roost until her last breath.

    My late uncle Willie (RIP) told me that the Murphy’s were directly descended from the infamous ‘Father Murphy from old Kilcormack’. Think Boolavogue!

    One of the Kavanagh’s, also named Eileen, who married Dr. Bastible, the Co. Wexford head doctor, moved from Enniscorthy to Sandycove, Co. Dublin, or somewhere near there in the forties or fifties, I don’tknow exactly. My uncle went to visit her in a nursing home approximately fifteen years ago. Eileen became an artist. She was fiercely independent. She had a shop, from what I gather. I think she had one son, an accountant. I recall my uncle telling me that another uncle based in Alberta, Canada, bought a painting of Eileen’s for a big price, in the double hundreds. He wouldn’t hear of it when she wanted to give it to him for nothing. So Eileen must have been rather good. Dr. Bastible was connected to the infamous radio personality, Bart Bastible.

    • Hi Marie-Therese,
      Nice to hear from you again. Ciss Murphy of The Dairy House was Ciss Mullett from Toberona, my father’s sister and my Aunt.
      Molly Murphy, my 1st cousin, from The Dairy House married John O’ Donoghue from around Gorey, they had 2 sons. I was at her funeral.
      I do mean Betty Heffernan
      Mulletts of Amiens St, across from Connolly station, were my father’s first cousins, Tom Mullett was the last Mullett in Amiens St, a bachelor, died in the 60s.
      I probably met you, as I was at all the funerals in Davidstown. The last one was dear Eileen Murphy RIP.
      Regards,
      Tom

  7. Hi Marie-Therese
    The John Mullett mentioned in the Dail reports was my father. He bred shorthorn bulls at Toberona. He was also an Inspector of bulls for the department.
    Tom

  8. Hi Tom,

    I actually met John O’Donoghue several times in Monageer. Joan-Ryan-Doyle, who originally hailed from the ‘Still’ area, and whom I frequently visited in Monageer made it her business to introduce him to me. I felt very honoured meeting the husband of Molly. I noted his very gentle disposition. I would not have encountered Molly, but felt I knew her from stories regaled to me by Joan-Carmel, her cousin, as both were the best of friends when growing up. Eileen always was sad when she talked of Molly.

    It was Molly, their aunt who had inherited the post-office/shop.

    So I was right about the Mulletts of Ameins St. The Mullet name is still placed over the pub. Thanks for that historical information vis-à-vis the pub.

    I went to so many of the funerals, and perhaps could have encountered you.

    Did you ever meet Father Willie? He was a missionary based in Japan? Sadly, he died last year. He made it his business to go to every funeral / wedding and the like when he was home on holidays.

    Did you ever meet Eileen’s husband, James? He was so kind to me. He was fond of being perched way up high on combine harvesters. He even drove home in one from as far as Co. Carlow, and him in the eighty mark.

    I think there was a brother of James’, who like the rest of the clan was mad into horses, and fell off one on the day of the hunt, which passed through the land at Palace East, Clonroche. He subsequently died six months later. I was holidaying at the homeplace at the time. I think he was chastised for being on the horse ‘at his advanced age’ at the time.

    I always felt a part of the family, and wished that I could have grown up in that environment. I took to it like a duck to water.

    • Hi Marie-Therese,
      I knew James very well, I called to Palace on a regular basis. Eileen was my main contact with my cousins in Davidstown…
      My late mother Maureen loved going to Palace to meet Eileen and James.
      I think my father John was Eileen’s God Father.
      Tom.

  9. Tom,
    That’s great to know that it was your father who was mentioned in the Dail. It can be a very dangerous business working with bulls. I came upon many of them at Palace East. I made sure to lie flat on the ground, if they came up too close.

    I knew a Cork woman, who sadly lost her father, when he was nailed to the corner of an outhouse, and was ferociously attacked by the bull.

    I’d say your father was a real connoisseur on bulls!

    Thank you so much for talking to me, Tom.

Leave a Reply

