Joan Baez -1965 [1]

I’m so thrilled to have discovered this old BBC4 video of Joan Baez. The folk/ballads activist songs here are part of a hardback song book that I just recently purchased. I went into town and was thrilled to know that the song-book was still in existence. I also owned one in the seventies. It was so sentimental. Betwixt Joan Baez’s song book / guitar and navy Duffel coat with hood, that had a big badge sown into the lapel – of which I’d received after walking sixty miles for Crisis at Christmas – a charitable organisation, based in Victoria, London. I was well made up and wanted for nothing else.

The songs JB sings here are so well known to me. You can hear a pin drop in the audience. Folk music was taken so seriously then, it may appear that the audience is not that interested, but in fact the participants at the studio would be in awe of this fine singer. They’re sitting there hanging on to every word she sings, just like I was when viewing it. What a natural voice. I wonder did Joan get it from the Scottish side of her family? This is just raw talent with no artificial sounds in the background, just Joan and her guitar. Just like Simon & Garfunkel. My favourites are in red.

1. I’m A Rambler, I’m A Gambler – 0:00  2. There But For Fortune – 2:30  3. Copper Kettle – 6:08  4. Mary Hamilton – 9:17  5. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right – 15:25  6. I’m Troubled And I Don’t Know Why – 18:45  7. We Shall Overcome – 22:05  8. With God On Our Side – 26:07  9. Plaisir D’Amour – 34:05

“Plaisir d’amour ne dure qu’on moment Chagrin d’amour dure toute la vie

The joys of love are but a moment long The pain of love endures the whole life long

Your eyes kissed mine, I saw the love in them shine You brought me heaven right there when your eyes kissed mine

My love loves me, a world of wonder I see A rainbow shines thru my window; my love loves me

And now he’s gone like a dream that fades in the dawn But the words stay locked in my heartstrings; my love loves me

Plaisir d’amour ne dure qu’on moment Chagrin d’amour dure toute la vie

J’ai toute quitte pour l’ingrate Sylvie Elle me quit et me prend un autre amou Tant qur cette eau coutera doucemen

Vera a ruisseau qui bord la prairie Je t’amerai, me repetait Sylvie Mais l’eau coute encore elle a change portant”

I learned this song in French and English in the folk-choir at Medway St. All time favourite.

Leave a Reply

