Baggot St. Mallards

Mallards at upper Baggot St., on a balmy Sept 2012 day, was a sight to behold.

They looked so peaceful and tranquil as they glided along together. I thoroughly enjoyed observing them. 

I got an opportunity of getting some close-up shots of them whilst they were relaxed in the water.

And even managed to get better shots as they turned in the opposite direction to retrace their tracks, as they were at  much better angle. Am really pleased with this particular one, as it’s so clear. Getting clear focussed ones in general is not an easy task. One has to persevere and wait for the golden opportunity. Especially, if one is not using a professional camera. The Lumix one I use is more for taking family photos.

This one is nice. It’s a pity though that it’s not more slightly centred. However, that would have knocked the tail out of the picture? Perhaps I should have zoomed in slightly less? Ah, well, you can’t win unless you are a trained photographer. That I’m definitely not. I’m almost clueless, but I do like trying my best, anyway. I learned to crochet and play the guitar by self discovery and through trial and error. I keep promising myself to go to classes for photography, as well as the violin. I love the colours they’re almost look like that of a young tiger cub.

This young one surely has the look of a male about it. I find that after looking at them for so long, I can almost detect the males by their build. They have that masculine, stronger appearance. I can spot them immediately in the swans as well.

They were such a delight to photograph, as they were so accessible, and there wasn’t much work needing to be done with the inbuilt Leica lens because of that factor.The tranquility did not last for too long, as the young ones appeared to want freedom from the watchful eyes of the parents. Suddenly, there was no stopping the family of ducks in their tracks as they swam close together and danced to a different tune, as they swam in the opposite direction. It was as if the lives of the young depended on the security of the older ones. There were no other birds around, and they were in a wide open vulnerable space at the canal, and they appeared very hyper-vigilant. Perhaps the adults were teaching them how to fly, and they were helping the young ones build up speed?

I’ve seen the swans at Portobello do the same thing when they’ve practiced with the young ones before they learned to take flight. It appears as though the older ones are coaxing the younger ones. Ah, it dawned on me too, that I’d seen that kind of behaviour before at the Dodder in Donnybrook. See: Mallards: Dodder Donnybrook Dublin May 2012 I had observed the mother duck frantically following the young energetic one around. She would give the bird a bit of freedom, then suddenly appear on the scene. The young one would fly away and she would be after it again. I guess the mother is teaching the young ones to fly the coop. Can’t be hanging out of teenagers all the time, they have to make their own lives sooner or later

An aside: The Sisters of Mercy’s was established at Baggot St.. I must get a photo of the statue of Mother Catherine McAauley next time I’m in the area, which is quite often, as it’s only a few bus-stops away on the 39 bus from Donnybrook.

Leave a Reply

