Bray Co Wicklow Ireland

I went to Bray today. The 145 bus that took me there was only a half an hour away from Donnybrook. It teemed down buckets as I walked the short distance to the bus-stop. So I was prepared for the worst on arrival. Thankfully it stopped just as I got off the bus. I have a penchant for charity shops, so I meandered into three of them, as they were so close by each other in the heart of Bray shopping area. I browsed at some books and tapes. I then purchased a Fawlty Towers series and 8 piece audio book cassettes We’ll Meet Again – by Mary Higgins Clark, and a CD of The Best of all Women. Singers comprising of Carly Simon, Your So VainKate Bush  –The man with the child in his eyes. (I love her Wuthering Heights)Nanci Griffith, whom I saw in concert in Cavan going back I think to the late eighties. It was at the height of From a Distance fame. She had this amazing quirky American accent and the Irish loved listening to her. (Bette Midler also did a rendition of FAD.) Emma Craven – I remember trying to learn the lines of: promise me, you wait for me – I’ll be home soon on the guitar it wasn’t easy at all. I haven’t as yet listened to casette, tapes. Aretha Franklin – I say a little Prayer; Mary Black also covered that song. Annie Lennox – Why. Mary Black with Emmy-Lou Harris, Only a Woman’s Heart. Mary Coughlan – I can’t make you love me. Sinead O’Connor – My special child. There are endless more singers on the 2 piece cassette, which only cost me a euro. I got the whole lot for a mere six euro. I like vintage cassettes and old vinyl records and love going to little markets to browse. I don’t buy vinyl’s anymore, as I have far too many old records. I would need a big house to keep them.

As I stepped out of one charity shop to go into another I saw a pub called Dicey Reilly’s across the main narrow street. I adore taking photos of nice quirky pub fronts. So when I was on the verge of taking a photo, two chaps suddenly stepped outside to have their fags. This was in the middle of the day. I abhor the culture of Irish people who frequent pubs during day time. It’s just not conducive with healthy living. The pubs are laughing all the way to the bank while some of those who are hardened to drink during the day time are damaging the only life they’ll ever have. I also dislike the fact that pedestrians on streets have to be subjected to viewing fag-ends that adorn the frontages of premises, because the law does not allow them to smoke inside same. I believe local county council authorities have searing costs because of continual removal of dog-ends from the streets. One of the stupefied chaps hollered some kind of incoherent mutterings, so I disappeared without further ado into Oxfam minus a photo. I guess it was his prerogative to say something, because I was the one wanting to take a photo and impinging on his space. After all, he was the one who was spending his money in the pub. He was probably only trying to be friendly, but I didn’t give him the chance. I could have humoured him, instead of being too intent on taking the photo. Think confirmation bias on my part. Well, it serves me right for liking pub fronts, but not the fall out of some stupefied behaviour because of effects of contents sold in pubs. The pubs are the ruination of generations of Irish people. I should be the last one to say this given that a uncle of mine had a pub-lounge in his motel. I think living in England helped me not to become a pub drinker. I avoid drunken behaviour like the plague.

Leave a Reply

