Peoples Park Dún Laoghaire August Bank Holiday 2012

I went to Dún Laoghaire on August Bank holiday 2O12. I was at (colloquially known area ) ‘the beach’. It was late afternoon. I kept hearing music in the background and took it for granted that it was coming from a car parked in the nearby promenade vicinity. It was getting too cold, anyway, so I decided to kill time and take a stroll around before heading back to Donnybrook. I didn’t have too far to go when I saw a lot of movement across the road. I decided to investigate. I discovered that there had been a cultural festival on in the Peoples Park. I decided to go into it and soak up whatever was left of it. A lot of people were packing up to go, as it was pouring down with rain and it was almost time to go, anyway. I was sorry to have not known about it beforehand, as I love discovering new things about different cultures.

There were delightful looking white tents neatly scattered all around the edge of the beautifully kept park. So I mooched around a lot of them to get an idea of what I had missed. In one of them there were remnants of children making dream-catchers. I knew what they were, as a Canadian aunt of mine had once given me a pair of dream-catcher earrings and told me the history of same.

I then went quickly to some other tents where there was food from a plethora of Asian / European countries. I would gladly have devoured some of the food, as I’m partial to foreign foods per se. I’ve been on a diet for a long time now – as I’m trying to get back to my normal weight – so I had to dispense with that luscious thought.

I spotted a lovely old-style homely looking tearoom, and it reminded me of one of those types of places that one sees dotted all over the British landscape where they play pitch and putt or some such like sport for older folk. Mind you, Dún Laoghaire is very British in its appearance. (I detected that feeling from the moment I went there some while ago.)

I then heard Asian music playing in the distance and went over to lap ip up. There were three young dancers on stage. They were dancing in a typical Indian way. Their movements were very good. (I’ve always had a penchant for dancing. Irish, Cheili; Morris, Ballet, Reggae and Jiving – you name it1 I always got compliments on the floor whenever I took to it.) I would be very astute inn that sense by knowing if others had natural movements. When the three talented young ladies were finished dancing, a band took to the stage. I thought they were very talented. I really like their music. They kind of reminded me of Kila, whom I’d seen at a one of the Strawberry Fair in Enniscorthy years ago, except that they had more of an African style interwoven with Irish music. They sang a Nigerian song. It was real catchy. They have only started up a year ago. I’ve forgotten the name of the band. I thought the young Irish lads did the music justice as well. I reckon they’ll go far. They told me that they were playing in St. Stephen’s Green the next day. It was pouring down with rain and there were hardly any people there. What a shame. I took this video, not thinking it would come out properly, and it did, so am pleased. I talked to the young people afterwards and they gave me the name of the band beginning with the ‘s’ but have forgotten it. I wonder will any of them spot this video on youtube and let me know. THanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

