Dún Laoghaire, Co. Dublin. July ’12

People all scarpered from the beach area when the weather took a turn for the worst – I didn’t though, as I saw it as a golden opportunity to capture the sea in its many moods. The sky above is just something else. The white clouds remind me of large dollops of cream, or fresh white snow that would melt in ones mouth. The vast emptiness is such a different kettle of fish to when I went out the last time to DL and the sea was full of yachts and ferries and little boats and surfers and fishermen. I really like the way the mist rolled into the sea and gave off a purple reflection. And also the way the sky enmeshed with the sea that both became indistinguishable.

I adore Tommy Fleming’s voice. He is so passionate. I think his version of the world renowned Danny Boy encapsulates the sombre mood of the sea.

Leave a Reply

