People’s Park Dún Laoghaire

When I was down at the pier on my recent trip to Dún Laoghaire I heard thumping loud music. I thought it was coming from somebody’s car. It was getting cold and the day was wearing on – so I decided to stroll around a bit before getting the bus back to Donnybrook. I chanced to go into the People’s Park, as I saw a lot of movement. I was in for rather a surprise, well the remnants of one anyway. Apparently, there had been a full day of activity there which revolved around foreign nationalities and their culture. The music had been coming from this spot. I love learning about new cultures. I had huge experiences having lived for fifteen years in London, East Sussex, and Birmingham, as well as holidaying in the Lake District, Norfolk, Devon, Cornwall and Scotland. Or, to put it in a nutshell, I’ve been from John O’Groats to Lands End. I’m used to encountering other nationalities. I didn’t get the name of the two-day festival, however, I think it was to do with cultures from India Africa and the Far East. I must check it out. (I’ve picked up an American expression there!)

There were very quaint stalls all around who were on the verge of closing up for the day.

I was sorry not to have known it was on earlier on in the day. By the time I’d arrived the crowds had dispersed. It was cold and rainy. I thought it was such a pretty spot only a stone’s throw from the pier. It was such a relaxing and peaceful place.

I enjoyed two lovely acts of music and dancing on stage. There were hardly any people there – which was a crying shame. However the ones there absolutely lapped up the talent. I took some video footage, as I really thought they were good. One act was of three young Indian dancers. The young woman in the photo was acting as compere. The other act comprised of a group of two African girls, a Nigerian singer, and four Irish lads, who were all such brilliant musicians. One lad played the flute. They reminded me of Kila, whom I also encountered at (Enniscorthy Strawberry) a festival.

I see on the backdrop sheet  there are greetings in Continenal languages such as French and Italian, so perhaps the festival was for all nationalities as opposed to just African and Asian.

In the hut at the back there were some toddlers and young children still busy making dream-catchers. I don’t know what this one is meant to signify, but it looks colourful. Ah, I think it could be a giant dream-catcher? I’m not sure?

I really enjoyed it at the park. Look at the flowerbeds on the lamp-posts. It’s the same in Donnybrook. The flowers an area so welcoming. This looks like a bandstand.

I will have to go into the tearooms the next time I go to Dún Laoghaire. Slan!

Leave a Reply

