Dún Laoghaire

I had some errands to do and was planning on going into Rathmines. However, I took a detour and got the 46a bus going towards Dún Laoghaire. Sometimes I get these vagaries and just go with the flow. I would have gone further out to Bray, but the forecast wasn’t looking all that good, so I opted for the former. I can see why a relative of mine upped stocks in the past and moved to nearby Sandycove. It’s so scenic. I would recommend it to tourists who come to Dublin to visit here. It’s far more interesting than being stuck in a hotel in the centre of the city. Besides, it’s three-quarters of an hour or less into town. Buses are regular.

Court house clock-tower. I’m partial to clock-towers. Think Rathmines! Not court-houses though – that’s for definite. I had my first experience in a court like this one when I was a mere toddler of just half a decade old was under the jurisdiction of one till I was over a decade and a half.

The last time I went to DL I’d noticed that the people appeared by far taller and slender than say a lot of people from the inner city. The same thing hit me again. It must have something to do with the healthy environment. I know that patients with TB would have recuperated in this sea-setting.  See British crown on top and also the three gold inlaid images of Queen Victoria who once landed at Kingstown as Dún Laoghaire was otherwise known during her reign.

Hartley’s on the promenade would be a nice spot to have – either homemade soup with home-made bread, or afternoon tea comprising of scones topped with cream and homemade Wexford strawberry with friends, whilst simultaneously soaking up view of yachts anchored or Irish ferries sailing from the harbor to and from Hollyhead, Wales.

There were tourists everywhere looking so relaxed and happy. Blimey, I’ll have to get out of the habit of waiting for people to pass by before taking photos, as it looks as though the place is empty, when that’s far from being the truth. I can see a crane in the photo, I thought all had left the country after the boom collapsed.

Some survivors of Goldenbridge were very lucky to have been taken out by people who came from this beautiful place, but they weren’t all that fussed, as they had originated from the inner city and felt so isolated when they came to this heavenly spot. I would have swopped places with them any day. My mother and uncles all loved the sea and I’m exactly the same. It’s the utter freedom I adore. I wish I was a bird sometimes.

Leave a Reply

