Donnybrook Dublin Magpies

Yeah, I think this would be one of the best snaps taken thus far of a magpie. They’re so hard to grapple with camera-wise, as they simply do not stay in one spot for the necessary length of time to come up with the proper goods. I am always hoping so much that the Leica inbuilt lens will focus quickly enough to get a good shot before the birds flies away. Invariably it almost never happens. Magpies don’t like to get near humans at all. I know this from my daily observations of said birds, who are permanent residents in my communal garden at Donnybrook. The branches in the background really lend a tropical atmosphere to the image. It was a very humid and mostly overcast day, so it was an added bonus to get sun shining on leaves.

This is another good one. I missed a bit of its tail though. I can’t see the eyes for the black head. They have such long tails.

Leave a Reply

