Sylvia Plath: The Bell Jar

The Bell Jar. Image credit: Sylvia Plath. Courtesy Mayor Gallery

From The Bell Jar:
“I had removed my patent leather shoes after a while, for they foundered badly in the sand. It pleased me to think they would be perched there on a silver log pointing out to sea, like a sort of soul-compass after I was dead.”

Sylvia Plath dedicated The Bell Jar to her friends who offered her refuge after the end of her marriage (“To Elizabeth and David”).

I was in Eason’s bookshop last evening reading the first chapter of Bell Jar. I really liked these two paragraphs.

I’m not going to attempt to read following Spark Notes until I’ve read the book. I put them here for future reference.

Table of Contents: Context / Plot Overview / Character List / Analysis of Major Characters

Leave a Reply

