Dublin: Blooming sunny late afternoon in June

I was testing out the camera – with inbuilt small Leica lens – outside the front-door at dinner-time. I caught a shot in the distance of a magpie. The latter belong to the surrounding area, and are to be seen in their droves everywhere.

Photo: Lumix

I could not get a good snap with the Kodak camera, as there is no zoom lens. Besides, if one tries to get up close to the magpies they flee in a terrible hurry. They’re not human friendly at all. I hear from the neighbours that they drove all the smaller birds out of this particular spot and took over it completely.

I was in the city-centre after 5: 00pm and took some random shots of James Joyce. I forgot to put up a photo of him for Bloomsday… so here goes! Happy (belated) Blooms- day to all you Joycean lovers. Think Senator David Norris the brilliant Joycean scholar.

Lumix camera

The plaque is self explanatory. I must go to the Writers’ Museum in Parnell Square again to see the fine regalia of the old greats. I took a snap before of the humble piano that JJ had in his humble Paris studio.

Lumix camera

I think this photo aptly describes Moore St., which is now full of Indian, Chinese and African shops. They work so hard and the banter that can be heard coming out of the shops is mostly very uplifting to the ears. There will be huge renovations occurring here in the future. I love strolling down here to get a birds-eye view of other cultures. I get my laptop repaired by a very highly trained French Malaysian/Indian person, I think. He works out of a shared rented shop with others from various different nationalities. He treats me with the height of respect and gives excellent service. He always has a big smile for me. I go to him deliberately, as I try to put myself into his shoes, and think what it must be like for him working and trying to make a living in a foreign country. I learned about different nationalities from having lived in London, but especially in Birmingham. The face of Moore Street of the past, when it was run by intergenerational inner-city working women – some of whom became legendary – has all but gone. One that springs to mind is Rosie. I must look her up. I always come away from here heavy laden with fruit of every kind. It’s much cheaper than in the shops and is always very fresh.

Lumix Camera

As I was going to the bus-stop I decided to take a very ordinary photo of where I get the 46A bus back to my abode. I had to laugh a little while later on, as a bus was held up in the traffic with a pedestrian in the form of a seagull who calmly walked – as if you please – across the road. It looked hilarious. The bus-driver was peeking out the front of the bus in amusement and dismay. Betwixt the bother of the glaring sun and the seagull, it appeared from his demeanour that he’d wished it would just fly off quickly, as it was holding up the rest of the traffic. The city-centre is always full of seagulls, as the river Liffey is just nearby, and as someone told me before, there is plenty of food for them everywhere in the centre of the city, that they don’t have to forage in the Liffey or out at sea. Another person told me that they were coming closer to the city, as the sea was being denuded of fish because of the illegal fishing skullduggery. The baby mallards at St. Stephen’s Green haven’t a high hope in hell with them because of scavengers overtaking the pond. They fly so low that one just hopes by a fluke or sheer luck that they don’t  accidentally get hurt by them, but invariably their moves are carefully measured and they narrowly miss the humans as they speedily whisk by in a split second.

Lumix Camera: Marie-Therese O' Loughlin

If the good weather prevails, I shall have to make it my business to not get off the bus at my stop and go all the way out toDún Laoghaire. It’s a lovely coastal spot. One does not have to go too far to find a seaside coastal area. That’s what becomes of living on an Island nation. It’s what makes it so cold and windy and rainy too for most of the year.

Lumix Camera Marie-Therese O'Loughlin

I went into the GPO to pay some bills. It’s an historical Dublin landmark. Think Easter Rising

I was able to zoom in on the tri-colour flag and the proud statues.

Leave a Reply

