Donnybrook wanderings

I went back today to the Donnybrook footbridge houses which had the lovely pink roses and lilies, and sandwiched in between them, I saw these lovely deep red passionate flowers. They remind me of flowers that one uses for weddings. I had my good camera with me, which cost more than quadruple the price of the Kodak, and to be perfectly honest I can’t really see much difference in the photos. I really like burnt-orange-red brick houses. They remind me of the safe times I had with the Boyne’s of Boyne St., Westland Row, who took me out on holidays and weekends from Goldenbridge. They lived in a house with similar brickwork. The little Kodak Easyshare 182 is an amazing camera for ordinary people, who just want to play around with no nonsense, every day family photography. I didn’t realise there was a potted plant in the background as I honed in on the window to give it a cottage-y warm feeling to the flowers and fern.

It was not a good day for taking photos. I can sense very much when the time is ripe to take them. I usually just give up on occasions such as today, as it was very gloomy and overcast. I always find when it has been raining, one can take some really good photos of flowers. However, these ones stood out crying to be noticed. Thy were in their prime. I hope Nora’s neighbour will be pleased to know that her precious flowers are adorning my learning journal and giving me plenty of excuses to express my literacy skills by talking about same. I’ve promised to get some prints of the photos. So one of these fine days I’ll surprise them with copies.

I adore fuchsias. They remind me of the long walks I took whilst in Dingle some years ago. They are in abundance everywhere along the by-roads of Kerry. They best suit the Western-sea-board environment. I noticed that there was a lot of white stuff or whatever on the tip-heads and stems of flowers. My favourite ones were these growing on a large hedge nearby Nora’s neighbours’ houses.

I saw a big wasp stuck up one of the fuchsias. I guess the inbuilt Leica close-up lens came into its own with these photos. It takes a bit of practice trying to not create blurred images at sudden opportunistic moments of this ilk. The second one is not a perfectly good focused one.

However, one has to catch these kind of shots on the spur of the moment, as the wasps don’t hang around for too long on the one flower.

I ventured a wee bit up the road from the houses on the footbridge to see the fuchsias behind the Sacred Heart convent gate. I was greeted by this sleeping beauty. I was afraid to disturb the curled up cuddly cat. Besides, s/he rather looked more interesting than the flowers – as I said, it was not the kind of day for taking nice photos of flowers.

I took this photo with all the look-alike white curdled old milk on the fuchsias. Perhaps somebody might give me an explanation of the white substance. The leaves on these convent fuchsias are a much darker green than the ones growing wildly on the hedges at footbridge houses up yonder.

Behind the gate there was the curled up cat, but, clung on to the from of the gate there was this good news banner. There was another one on the other half of the gate.

Also on the convent wall outside, there was this notice. Replicas of these pertaining to the Eucharistic Congress were to be seen outside all Irish churches and convents everywhere.

I couldn’t resist Nora’s roses on the way back. A lot of them are withering away. I wanted to see how they would turn out with the camera with the Leica lens. Her pink roses never cease to amaze me. Just look at the size of this one. It reminds me of the flowers I used to see at the Annual Horticultural show in Horseferry Rd, London, which I was an avid fan.

As I crossed the footbridge en-route to my humble abode, I took this last photo to wind things up. So considering it wasn’t a day for taking nature photos I think I didn’t do too badly. Oh, wait, there’s just one more that must get a look in.

I saw this very young snail on a large stone wall at the footbridge. I see that a piece of its shell is broken. Isn’t nature so wonderful the way it connects colours together. The shell with half of it looking so yellow and young is so beguiling. The Jade green with multi brown stripes going in different rounded and straight angles are such a perfectly matching blend. Such classy colours. All merging together beautifully.

Leave a Reply

