Red is the rose

 

Come over the hill my bonnie/ handsome Irish lass/lad Come over the hill to your darling You choose the road love, and I’ll make a vow And I’ll be your true love forever

Red is the rose that in/by yonder garden grows
Fair is the lily of the valley
Clear is the water that flows from the Boyne
And/But my love is fairer than any

 T’was down by Killarney’s green woods that we did stray The moon and the stars they were shining The moon shone it’s rays on her/his locks of golden hair And s/he swore s/he’d be my love forever.

Chorus:

It’s not for the parting of my sister Kate It’s not for the grief of my mother It’s all for the loss of my bonnie Irish Lass/ Lad That my heart is breaking forever.

This song has always been one of my favourite party-pieces. As I was about to go indoors having been in town for the afternoon, and admiring all the retro-patterned clothing in Debenham’s when en-route to the restaurant on upper floor with Loreto. I saw these pretty young roses at the housing complex next door to where I live in Donnybrook. The gate was ajar, so I slipped in to take some video footage, it was all at a moments notice, nothing was planned, just a spur of the moment thing. The young roses were right behind the entrance gate. So I thought I wasn’t been overly intrusive considering that the opened gate seemed like a kind of invitation or rather a temptation. I guess one has to be very careful, as a random person with a camera could be seen as a suspicious looking character, especially if one is stopped down near rose bushes in a strange garden. Nobody complained. I find that it is better to capture the intensity of the colour of flowers when the sun is not shining too much and sometimes even better still when it is raining not too heavily, as was the case here. It is lovely looking at the water on the roses. Instead of placing a picture of roses I went one step further and tried to create a moving picture of roses. I love concentrating on flowers, as they’re such a delicate life force. I feel so guilty about having had flowers in my salads. Na Fianna Well done lads! You did very well in the All Ireland Talent Show in 2011.

Leave a Reply

