One thing begot another at George’s St. arcade, Dublin

Artist – Maurice Fitzgerald at work in George’s St. Arcade. (May, 2012)

I went into George’s St. arcade today. I took a photo of Maurice as he sat there in his little enclave doing his usual etchings from photographs of Christchurch Cathedral, famous pubs and historical haunts. His stall, in one sense is situated in a good spot for passing trade, as he can be seen from the main street. However, the downside of that luxury is that he has to suffer dreadfully in the cold weather.

I remember passing a remark to him before about not being sheltered enough from the rain, wind and cold weather that perpetually besets Dublin, especially in the city-centre, which is so near the Liffey, and is always that much more noticeably colder. He pointed out that he has a little heater tucked in right behind the tiny seating area.

He’s so talented. He just loves to etch and etch away the live-long-day in his homely spot in the heart of Dublin.

I’d expected the picture to not come out properly at all, as the light was fiercely beaming down from a rooftop window of this very old building. I’d expected it to be very blurred. So I was in for a pleasant surprise. I really like the way the light shone down in the master’s artistic direction, as he drew away to his heart’s content oblivious to it, and the people milling around.

Maurice displays his creations all around, and is kept very busy with tourists. Americans, especially go mad for his work, as they are big into heritage stuff. There is a certain ambience in this tiny quarter of George’s St. which is always a hive of activity despite its tininess. It’s such a pity that the world does not embrace individuals with entrepreneuria,l natural gifts. It would be a better place with more of the ilk of Maurice, instead of conglomerates who just swallow and flush them out.

Although the artist comes into contact with people all the time, he’s very shy and reticent. I told him that I was hoping to put his picture into my learning blog if he didn’t object. He was okay with that providing I didn’t go overboard and was discreet. I reminded him that there was nothing to fear where my learning blog was concerned, as hardly anyone passes by my private space in the blogosphere. I told him that it was all a learning curve for me in being able to express in words what I see when I go outdoors, especially  from interesting people like him.

There are more interesting stalls in the small mall which is situated nearby Dame St. I think I shall go there again with the camera to see if other stall-holders will allow me to take some photos. It’s all par for the course. I can only improve literacy skills by recounting in the learning journal what I see out there in the heart of Dublin.

Just before Maurice was about to close shop at 6: 00pm we finished up talking about the sad demise of Louis de Broquoy. He too adored his work as much as me.

I then dashed across the road to the camera shop, as the kind assistant had been kindly charging a camera battery for me. I had been in there earlier on, as I needed to learn the meaning of internal memory full on the camera, so as to put camera to good use. I was told by the chatty, homely assistant that It just needed to be put into auto. So with that knowledge to hand I was able to test it out on Maurice. One thing begot another at George’s St. arcade.

Maurice is agent for Ludmilla Korol. I adore her work. It appeals to the survivor in me.

Ludmila Korol | Marie-Thérèse O’Loughlin Goldenbridgeinmate39

Musical Children: by Ludmila Korol | Marie-Thérèse O’Loughlin ...

Leave a Reply

