Ja grüezi wohl Frau Stirnimaa

Ja, grüezi wohl, Frau Stirnima,
sagged sie, wi labbed sie,
wie sind sie au’ so dra ?
Ja, grüezi wohl, Frau Stirnima,
sagged sie, wie labbed sie,
wie gaht’s däm ihrem Ma ?

Grüezi wohl, Frau Stirnima,
sagged sie, wie labbed sie,
wie sind sie au’ so dra ?
Grüezi wohl, Frau Stirnima,
sagged sie, wie sind sie au’ so dra ? “A-hu!”

Ja, grüezi wohl, Frau Stirnima,
sagged sie, wi labbed sie,
wie sind sie au’ so dra ?
Ja, grüezi wohl, Frau Stirnima,
sagged sie, wie labbed sie,
wie gaht’s däm ihrem Ma ?

Grüezi wohl, Frau Stirnima,
sagged sie, wie labbed sie,
wie sind sie au’ so dra ?
Grüezi wohl, Frau Stirnima,
sagged sie, wie sind sie au’ so dra ? “A-hu!”

I was e-mailing a very dear old friend in Einsiedeln, Switzerland and was being pernickety about placing an umlaut on the Swiss-German “Grüezi” greeting. And as the saying goes – one thing begets another. As suddenly it triggered off yet another Swiss-German ditty that I knew, as well as do presumably every Swiss-German person. It’s very cheerful and funny. So Grüezi wohl to all you Swiss people out there, have a cola on me. I like it when the German man asks them to sing Grüezi “Gott”! Hahaha. He also asks for “three” straws for the ‘two” cola’s ordered. Ha! Funny! Minstrels – Grüezi wohl Frau Stirnimaa 1969 (Filmausschnitt mit Heinz Erhardt und Ralf Wolter)

hehoha313 in the comments at Youtube says: erinnert mich an die Dubliners

I thought that at first with respect of the instruments and hairstyles, but then on closer scrutiny, I saw that the Dubliners dressed differently. The Minstrels were more hippyish in fashion, whilst the dubliners were dressed like plain men on the Dublin Streets. I used to be all into Afghan coats; flowery embroidered jeans, jackets and Indian dresses when I was young. I also wore Patchouli perfume and made everyone around me dizzy. I distinctly remember being asked by Sr. Anthony at Medway St. if I was into smoking pot, etc!!  Sr. Raphael came over all weak whenever I was around and would make derogatory comments. Gosh, I must have stank to high Heaven with the strong pungent aroma. Ja Grüezi Wohl!

Leave a Reply

