Du, du liegst mir im Herzen

Lyrics in German:
Du, du liegst mir im Herzen
du, du liegst mir im Sinn.
Du, du machst mir viel Schmerzen,
weißt nicht wie gut ich dir bin.
Ja, ja, ja, ja, weißt nicht wie gut ich dir bin.

So, so wie ich dich liebe
so, so liebe auch mich.
Die, die zärtlichsten Trieb
fühle ich ewig für dich.
Ja, ja, ja, ja, fühle ich ewig für dich.

*Doch, doch darf ich dir trauen
dir, dir mit leichtem Sinn?
Du, du kannst auf mich bauen
weißt ja wie gut ich dir bin!
Ja, ja, ja, ja, weißt ja wie gut ich dir bin!

Und, und wenn in der Ferne,
mir, mir dein Bild erscheint,
dann, dann wünscht ich so gerne
daß uns die Liebe vereint.
Ja, ja, ja, ja, daß uns die Liebe vereint.

Lyrics in English:
You, you are in my heart.
you, you are in my mind.
You, you make me much pain,
You don’t know how good I am for you.
Yes, yes, yes, yes you don’t know how good I am for you.

So, as I love you
so, so love me too.
The most tender desires
I feel for you forever.
Yes, yes, yes, yes, I feel for you forever.

*But, but may I trust you
you, you with a light heart?
You, you know you can rely on me
You do know how good I am!
Yes, yes, yes, yes You do know how good I am!

And, and if in the distance,
it seems to me like your picture,
then, then I wish so much
that we were united in love.
Yes, yes, yes, yes, that we were united in love.

*Not applicable X2

I like this sweet, simple, gentle version of lied.

H/t TanteA

This song also takes me back to my young days. I remember putting religious English words to the music and sending it off to a  London publisher. I very nearly got it published. That was in London. Too bad then, not now, though, for a multitude of reasons. I like this very simple version.

Leave a Reply

