St. Aidan’s Cathedral, Enniscorthy Co. Wexford

I got somewhat carried away in the last post trying to squeeze in some of the stained glass windows of this beautiful cathedral that I decided that it merited a post with exquisite photographs all of its own.

North of Wexford is Enniscorthy and its Cathedral of St Aidan, a large and fairly simple church by A W N Pugin 1843-4. The church was painstakingly restored in 1994. This Catholic cathedral serves the ancient diocese of Ferns.

The Nave of St. Aidan’s Cathedral 2009. Photos: H/t Wiki.

St. Aidan’s Cathedral East Aisle Second Window. Evangelist: John 2009

Luke and the full length John can be seen in the last post.

Whenever my uncle came home from the missions in Japan he always concelebrated mass here at the altar. The cathedral of his home-town where he was born and bred. I just love the orange carpet.

This Pieta statue lies to the back of the right entrance of the church. It brings back so many memories to me. I remember so often kneeling in the benches beside after having lit candles and asking God and his divine mother to bring me closer to my ancestors, who would have frequented the church during their life time. I always felt that I belonged to Enniscorthy. I did not have to search anywhere else in the world for the maternal side of my family. I used to wonder what seats the ancestors would have sat in and would move around testing out some of them thinking that maybe I chanced upon the right one.

The reflections coming in through the windows transport me back to Goldenbridge chapel. It used to fascinate me as a child to see all the glistening colours of the rainbow shining on the walls. The solitary station of the cross on the wall would have been very similar to the stations of the cross that bedecked the corridor of Goldenbridge. The black and red tiled floor is the exact same as the porch-hall of the now dilapidated uninhabitable homestead at Fairfield. I’ve always had a penchant for churches. I think a lot of people are drawn to them because aesthetically they’re so appealing and magical and mystical.

Here is a more close-up view of another stained glass window at the cathedral.

Leave a Reply

