Musical Friends: by Ludmila Korol

“Musical Friends” – by Ludmila Korol

This is the next Ludmila Korol canvas print I shall purchase in the foreseeable future. I absolutely adore the work of this young Ukrainian Irish domiciled gifted artist. She appeals to my inner child, the child that was so bereft of music.

I’ve always wanted to play the violin. I was deprived from learning it at Goldenbridge. A professional violinist/cellist came each Sunday at 11: 00am sharply to give lessons to children who were specially selected by the nuns. Same was applicable with Irish dancing. I was non-too-pleased to learn from some of them as adults that they never took up music seriously. One of them in fact told me that she hated playing the cello. I was gobsmacked. I bought a violin a long while ago and will definitely pursue my life-long ambition to master it. It’s such a beautiful instrument to listen to indeed.

I discovered that my Kilkenny side of the family were very interested in playing instruments, and that a violin hung over the fireplace of the old thatched farm-homestead at Castlewarren. I also always believed that I had to have had Co Clare roots, as my life-long love for traditional music – as also in those parts has been utterly evidential. It had to be in the blood?

My recently deceased uncle Willie R.I.P. used to visit the Ryan family at adjacent Enniscorthy farm. There was a violin religiously placed over the fireplace. The father played it diligently for him as a cead mile failte on his return home on holidays from Japan.

The tin-whistle is also a very popular instrument with the Irish. The artist was obviously incorporating Irish culture into her paintings.

There was a percussion band at Goldenbridge. I remember pleading with the host family at Boyne St. to get me a harmonica. When I arrived in the rec [wreck] hall with the spanking new harmonica, it was instantaneously swiped out of my hands by a nun. I was given a triangle instead to play. I was never more insulted. In hindsight I can see the logic, as one cannot suddenly play a mouth-organ. I thought it could be mastered like the comb and silver paper that I played when out with the Boyne family. It was never given back to me – but then again, children never owned anything at all. We were deprived of everything.

I remember mini-piano accordion recorders being introduced into Sr. Clement’s infants class in the new building called ‘Carmel’. I was a teenager at the time. Things were then slowly changing and were becoming more modern and mainstream and somewhat more like normal outside schools. I considered it a real privilege being asked by the nun to mind the class. I was normally on the lower end of the Goldenbridge ladder.

H/t Ludmila Korol.

A spam artist just posted the following quote:

“Abstract art is a product of the untalented, sold by the unprincipled to the utterly bewildered.” by Al Capp.

I doubt very much that Ludmila Korol is an untalented artist by a long chalk. I’m bewitched not bewildered by her abstract paintings.

Update: Easter Sunday.

I dropped by Maurice Fitzgerald’s stall at George’s St. Arcade. He told me that I’d just missed Ludmila Korol by one minute. What a shame. I would have loved to have spoken with her about her paintings. At that time in question, I was across the road in the camera shop picking the brains of a very informed staff member. Think Canon EOS500D. Maurice said that she is very reticent and shy. He’s proud of the fact that he’s up there on the list when it comes to receiving her latest paintings.

‘Girl with Teddy’ Painting by Ludmila Korol

One thing begot another at George’s St. arcade, Dublin | Marie …

Leave a Reply

