Fr. William J. Curry ssc R.I.P.

Fr William Curry ssc R.I.P.

William Curry“Willie had a very good command of both spoken and written Japanese. He had great interest in people and was a shrewd judge of character. He adopted a laid-back style that enabled him to mobilise the talents of lay persons and to motivate them to dedicate their talents to the Church. His kindness, sincerity, patience and generosity were deeply appreciated in his various appointments.”
Fr William J. (“Willie”) Curry died suddenly in Dalgan in the early hours of 9 March, apparently from a massive heart-attack. Born in Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford on 19 May 1935, he was educated at Loreto Convent, Enniscorthy, C.B.S. Enniscorthy and St Peter’s College, Wexford. He came to Dalgan in 1953 and was ordained priest on 21 December 1959.

After ordination he was appointed to Japan where he would spend the following forty-five years apart from a four-year period on promotion work in Ireland between 1982 and 1986. He worked in all four Columban areas in Japan. His first appointments were in the Archdiocese of Osaka, to Yakatamachi, and Ryujin; in the Diocese of Fukuoka, to Obiyama, Oe and Hondo; then in the Diocese of Yokohama to Katase, Fujisawa, Ninomiya, and Hiratsuka; in the Archdiocese of Tokyo he worked briefly at Narita; finally he returned again to the Diocese of Fukuoka to spend his last seventeen years successively in Shimasaki and Tetori, both in Kumamoto City.

Willie had a very good command of both spoken and written Japanese. He had great interest in people and was a shrewd judge of character. He adopted a laid-back style that enabled him to mobilise the talents of lay persons and to motivate them to dedicate their talents to the Church. His kindness, sincerity, patience and generosity were deeply appreciated in his various appointments.

On his return to Ireland in 2005, he was asked to take charge of the Maynooth House. Most of his guests were Chinese priests, Sisters and seminarians who were taking courses in English and Theology. Willie was the perfect, welcoming, unobtrusive guest-master who made everyone feel at home and gave them the run of the house.

3 thoughts on “Fr. William J. Curry ssc R.I.P.

  1. Pingback: Helen Doyle. Nellie Doyle R.I.P. X2. The Still. Monageer, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford | Marie-Thérèse O'Loughlin Goldenbridgeinmate39

  2. Marie Therese,
    I just want to say that I am very sorry to hear of your uncle Willie’s death, I never had the good fortune to meet with him face to face, but I did speak with him over the phone a number of times in recent years, as he was a friend of my birth mother (a sister of Helen) and was able to tell me a lot about her from early childhood, which I will always be grateful to him for. Being adopted, very little information is given about our background!!

    Fr. Willie filled in a lot of gap’s for me and I will never forget him for that. I also read what you put up about my Aunt Helen and the Still, it was really nice to read it and sad ……as to your question, ‘was your uncle present at either funeral’??? I can tell you he was at Helen Doyle’s funeral and did serve communion too, as I received it from him myself, without knowing it was him!! Until it was said to me later in Belfeild GAA by Helen’s son Nicky jr. If I had known it was him, I would have thanked him for all that he told me about the woman who gave birth to me, sadly I never got the chance to do that. He was a lovely man, very friendly and very funny and I’m glad I plucked up the nerve to ring him when he was above in Maynooth College. I’m so sorry for your great loss. xx

  3. Pingback: Nice comment | Marie-Thérèse O'Loughlin Goldenbridgeinmate39

Leave a Reply

