Hester Prynne. ‘The Scarlet Letter’.

I’ve just discovered a famous American book called The Scarlet Letter. It sounds like a very good read? I will definitely watch out for it in my local book-shop. I’ve linked to Sparknotes, but will not endeavour to look at study notes until I’ve read the book. I see that there has been a film made of the literary work by Hawthorne.. I’ve been warned time and time again, over the years, by my tutor, to never to look at literary films before embarking on reading of same. As invariably they seem to be such distorted versions.

Though Hester Prynne, who is condemned by her Puritain neighbours for having a child out of wedlock, is sometimes seen as a victim, she manages to survive with dignity and faith throughout, which we think makes her pretty darn powerful. NPR has described her as being “among the first and most important female protagonists in American literature. She’s the embodiment of deep contradictions: bad and beautiful, holy and sinful, conventional and radical… [she] can be seen as Hawthorne’s literary contemplation of what happens when women break cultural bounds and gain personal power.” H/t Flavorwire.

Well – if luck would have it – it was surely on my side. As I was in Enable Ireland charity shop off Capel St. the other day and picked up ‘The Scarlet Letter’ by Nathaniel Hawthorne. The Penguin Audiobook comprising of two cassettes is spanking new and still sealed in cellophane paper, Penguin. I got it for the princely sum of E1. I have a penchant for old-fashioned cassettes.

  
Leave a Reply

