Mendocino: Linda Ronstadt & the McGarrigle Sisters


When I think of New York and California, I’m instantaneously reminded of this most enchanting rendition of Talk to me of Mendocino by three very beautifully gifted singers/songwriters.

I bid farewell to the State of ol’ New York.
My home away from home.
In the State of New York I came of age.
When first I started roaming.

And the trees grow high in New York State.
And they shine like gold in Autumn.
Never had the blues from whence I came.
But in New York State I caught ’em.

Talk to me of Mendocino.
Closing my eyes I hear the sea.
Must I wait, must I follow?
Won’t you say “Come with me?”

And it’s on to South Bend, Indiana. Flat out on the Western Plains.

Rise up over the Rockies and down on into California. Out to where but the rocks remain.

And let the sun set on the ocean. I will watch it from the shore.

Let the sun rise over the Redwoods. I’ll rise with it till I rise no more.

Talk to me of Mendocino
closing my eyes, I hear the sea.
Must I wait, must I follow?
Won’t you say “Come with me?

New York (now home to so many Irish people) and California are on my ‘places of the world to visit’ wish-list.

Canada is obviously fierce proud of Kate, R.I.P. & Anna McGarrigle. The stamp in their honour is self-explanatory.

Leave a Reply

